Customer Reviews

Let’s be clear. We are definitely not striving for Michelin stars. We want to serve the best Sunday roast, be your favorite place to drink and to be training the next great chef. So we strive to have our team recognised as rising stars.

Excellent!

Attended with family for 8yr old son’s birthday. Absolutely excellent, could not fault it at all! Beer & food brilliant, staff went the extra mile, very helpful, even putting a candle in my sons dessert, much to his delight, without us requesting. Since being taken over by new owners the Plough is going back to the excellent pub it used to be. Any poor reviews on here prior to 2018 I would ignore, as that was the old management. We will certainly be going back & proud to have the Plough as our local once again.


Susan A

06/10/2018

Another Great lunch

Current owners have restored the Plough to previous high standard which had slipped badly. Food, service, value and environment all excellent


Stuart F

22/09/2018

Good Lunch For Two

Visited here under last and the new management the menu is not as varied as it was under previous ownership, we had enjoyed the burger selection and Steak and Ale pie offered in the past. However My Wife and I dropped in for Lunch on Thursday 19th 12.15pm Just several other diners at the time. I ordered Fish Chips and Peas My Wife Had the Scampi and Chips. Service was prompt and polite. The food arrived promptly too and looked appetising. I was not disappointed the Beer Battered Fish was well cooked with crispy Batter the fish fell apart. The Thick cut chips were excellent as was the portion of mushy peas. My Wife thoroughly enjoyed her Scampi and Chips. Both meals served with lemon wedge and choice of sauces. The Bill was reasonable and we would visit again.


Bob K

21/07/2018

Super Sunday Lunch!

Booked a table for Sunday lunch for 4 adults and a three year old. On arrival, the youngster’s place already had a colouring sheet and small knife and fork in place. The friendly Deputy Manager immediately bought crayons over and took our drinks orders. Drinks soon arrived. The menu featured a really good choice. We could have happily feasted on the light bites on the first page – some different and appetising choices. There’s plenty of choice for kids, all at a very reasonable price. Two of us plumped for the onion rings as a starter, having had them in the past. On arrival they were even better than usual: huge, golden, crispy, tasty and hot. There portions were a decent size too. Most of us had the Sunday lunch – excellent value at £7.95. The beef was delicious – tender and tasty and the Yorkshire pud huge. My only criticism would be the roasties which were pale and not crispy (which is why I have withheld a star!). All in all, another excellent experience at this friendly pub. We shall be back again!


Bronte-Sister

20/08/2018

Excellent place to eat family friendly

Paid the Plough a visit while on a break with my Daughter and her family, we had 2 children with us age 7&4. We were made to feel welcome by the staff as soon as we entered, the food is absolutely delicious, all freshly prepared and cooked, they cater well for the children. there is an outside play area and eating area. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, really enjoyed our meal and the lovely atmosphere there and will definitely call in again if we are up that way again.


Ellen H

19/07/2018

Family of 20 meal = perfect night

We booked in to The Plough for our 6 yr olds birthday meal ( at his request ) on Friday evening for 20 family members including 4 children and 2 toddlers in high chairs and one gluten free and one wheelchair access.
Wow..wow..wow !! Everything was perfect. The meals for 20 arrived together and clean plates were sent back with rave reviews. Birthday cake was served with music specially selected for our boy and the play area outside was the icing on the cake for all where a game of football was enjoyed and a race around the track with all of his cousins.
The staff were attentive and everyone left happy !! Thankyou


debjacques

14/07/2018

Friendly cosy pub

Five of us dropped in for an evening meal of pub fare. We found a cosy corner away from the noisy bar lounge where the England v Croatia football match was being broadcast. We received friendly and attentive table service and enjoyed our meals.

=


Ron H

13/07/2018

Pub grub with a nice outside eating arra which has a play area at what appears to be a small BMX track

Good choice of home cooked food. We took my elderly father for lunch who can be a bit picky but the staff accommodated his culinary needs with no problems . Nice pleasant landlord and staff. A good selection of real hand pulled ales also on tap.
Landlord jas changed in the last 12 months


Jacqueline T

09/07/2018

Delicious lunch

Popped in for a quick drink and a light bite. We ordered from the tapas style menu and were really happy with the meal. It was tasty, well presented and the hot. The staff were very friendly and efficient. It was fairly quiet inside which may be why but we will definitely be going back to try something else.

 


TB2016Reviewer

10/06/2018

Excellent Fran the chef is back!!!

We called in tonight for tea we have not been in for a few months.
I had the lamb rump off the specials menu served with veg and new potatoes.

Hubby went for the mixed grill everything was cooked to perfection, we will certainly be calling back very soon.

I also had the chocolate and orange cheese cake which again was excellent. This Chef certainly knows how to cook!!!!

Also the waiter who was very busy really looked after the customers well done great service!!


Carol W

01/05/2018

Excellent.

Called in for lunch after hearing good reports. We were welcomed by friendly member staff who took our drinks order and brought to our table.

The menu was plentiful and had a good variation of dishes to suit all. My wife had the Steak sandwich which she said was really good. I opted for the ploughmans. Again a big platter full and delicious homemade coleslaw. Will definitely visit again.


Adrian B

30/04/2018

Love it here – totally relaxed atmosphere and a great pub menu that offers fantastic food.
We are regular visitors to the plough and are certainly happy to drive out to it to make sure we have an experience we desire.
The kids love the play area and the food overall 10/10


ckenmc

14/04/2018

Popped in for lunch, we had sandwiches which were fantastic. Great quality, local produce, nicely presented, friendly service and possibly the best coleslaw I’ve tasted! Will definitely return!


Tracey732

Good food; excellent service!

We wanted a local venue for a Good Friday lunch with the two year old and a couple of friends so we walked round to The Plough. We were immediately welcomed by the friendly landlord who took the time to come and talk to us. He soon gave us menus and having clocked the youngster, brought over crayons and a colouring sheet. We were pleased to say that the menu had improved significantly since we first tried it a year ago. There was a decent selection of pub staples, extras such as chips with truffles and parmesan shavings and a good variety of specials.

We ordered onion rings which were brought as a starter: huge, crispy and served in beer batter – fantastic! The fish pie was lovely, as was the pie and fish and chips. The landlord went out of his way to accommodate the nipper, asking what he liked and ensuring a ramekin of sliced cucumber arrived with his goujons.

We had a lovely lunch: the food was decent and the service superb. I can’t understand why it wasn’t busier. As we only live round the corner, we will be back (probably for Sunday lunch). I have withheld one star as it was a tad chilly in the room and the fire wasn’t on although it was a cold day.


Bronte-Sister

05/04/2018

Great food and friendly welcome.

A friendly welcome and great food, good range of ales on offer. The staff were welcoming and explained food choices. There was a good choice of well chosen fresh food a selection for children and seasonal specials. They had made this a friendly experience and thought about books and games for children to play. The food was delicious, I would recommend the lamb Henry particularly. Would definitely recommend as a great reasonable choice with great tasting food and a place to return to.

 


italia-uk83

05/04/2018

This is a lovely pub. The food is fantastic. And the staff are very friendly. I’d all so like to tell your this is a very child friendly pub. If out for a meal I normally feel on edge but the staff went that extra mile for the children. There is colouring sheets and toys and books for them to play with.


Lynsey W

31/03/2018

Early Mothers day meal.

The only reason I didn’t give this venue full marks was because one item was a little greasy and there wasn’t a great deal of atmosphere – but it was a quiet Sunday evening so not surprising really. We’ll definitely be back


ShazaElswick

15/03/2018

Better but room to improve.

We used to eat here regularly but things got out of hand over the years. Visited with the family for the first time in a while. Menu is better but fairly brief. Food was better but not as good as it could have been. Burger was undercooked and a steak was tougher than it should have been, the chips were disappointing too. Seemed to be few staff on for a Saturday but more appeared as the night wore on. We will go back now and hope things continue in the right direction


Watson202

15/03/2018

GREAT FOOD AND FRIENDLY STAFF

My family visited this pub for the first time for my mum’s birthday and we had 5 wonderful meals. The food was excellent, great value for money and all served by very friendly staff in a relaxing atmosphere. Thank you again for making my mum’s birthday special.


Vickie

03/02/2018

Inexpensive meal, but great quality.

Had a family outing with the kids and the service was great, and the food arrived quickly. Relaxed atmosphere and reasonable value for money.


Kitdan1

01/01/2018